What Time Do Stock Markets Open and Close?


Stock market trading implies a wide range of activity, huge load of the information and monitoring of the most current data. That’s why the stock trading acidity has a set of rules, one which is the timing when the stock market operates.



Some believe that stock traders work almost 24 hours a day that’s why for them it really doesn’t matter what the open hours of the stock markets are. On the other hand some of the traders are not quite sure or do set a time schedule for themselves.




But for the most of the world it does matter when the stock exchange opens. That’s in particular important for the day traders.



We have listed stock exchange open and close hours for the major stock exchanges at the global market.

(Beginning from American markets and moving forwards in time)



New York Stock Market (NYSE)

Open: 9:30am EST / 14:30 Universal Time Code (UTC)
Close: 4:00pm EST / 21:00 UTC

NASDAQ

Open: 9:30am EST / 14:30 UTC
Close: 4:00pm EST / 21:00 UTC

Toronto Stock Market (TSK)

Open: 9:30am EST / 14:30 UTC
Close: 4:00pm EST / 21:00 UTC

Mexican Stock Market (BMV)

Open: 8:30am CST / 15:30 UTC
Close: 3:00pm CST / 21:30 UTC

New Zealand Stock Market (NZSX)

Open: 10:00am NZST / 22:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm NZST / 05:00 UTC

Australian Securities Market (ASX)

Open: 9:50am AEST / 23:50 UTC
Close: 4:12pm AEST / 06:12 UTC

Tokyo Stock Market (TSE)

Open: 9:00am JST / 00:00 UTC
Close: 3:00pm JST / 06:00 UTC

Korea Stock Market (KRX)

Open: 9:00am JST / 00:00 UTC
Close: 3:00pm JST / 06:00 UTC

Bursa Malaysia (MYX)

Open: 9:00am MYT / 01:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm MYT / 09:00 UTC

Singapore Market (SGX)

Open: 9:00am SGT / 01:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm SGT / 09:00 UTC

Taiwan Stock Market (TSE)

Open: 9:00am CST / 01:00 UTC
Close: 1:30pm CST / 05:30 UTC

Hong Kong Stock Market (HKEX)

Open: 9:20am HKT / 01:20 UTC
Close: 4:00pm HKT / 08:00 UTC

Shanghai Stock Market (SSE)

Open: 9:30am CST / 01:30 UTC
Close: 3:30pm CST / 07:00 UTC

Shenzhen Stock Market (SZSE)

Open: 9:30am CST / 01:30 UTC
Close: 3:30pm CST / 07:00 UTC

Philippine Stock Market (PSE)

Open: 9:30am PST / 01:30 UTC
Close: 3:30pm PST / 07:30 UTC

Indonesian Stock Market

Open: 9:30am WIB / 02:30 UTC
Close: 4:00pm WIB / 09:00 UTC

Stock Market of Thailand (SET)

Open: 10:00am ICT / 03:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm ICT / 09:30 UTC

Bombay Stock Market (BSE)

Open: 9:15am IST / 03:45 UTC
Close: 3:30pm IST / 10:00 UTC

National Stock Market of India (NSE)

Open: 9:15am IST / 03:45 UTC
Close: 3:30pm IST / 10:00 UTC

Colombo Stock Market (CSE)

Open: 9:30am IST / 04:00 UTC
Close: 2:30m IST / 09:00 UTC

Johannesburg Stock Market (JSE)

Open: 9:00am CAT / 07:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm CAT / 15:00 UTC

Frankfurt Stock Market (FSX)*

Open: 8:00am CET / 07:00 UTC
Close: 10:00pm CET / 21:00 UTC

Istanbul Stock Market (ISE)*

Open: 9:30am EET / 07:30 UTC
Close: 5:30pm EET / 15:30 UTC

Wiener Börse AG / Vienna Stock Market*

Open: 8:55am CET / 07:55 UTC
Close: 5:35pm CET / 16:35 UTC

Ukrainian Market (UX)

Open: 10:00am EET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm EET / 15:30 UTC

Amman Stock Market (ASE)*

Open: 10:00am EET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 12:00pm EET / 10:00 UTC

Euronext Paris (EPA)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Swiss Market (SIX)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Berne Market (BX)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm CET / 15:30 UTC

Spanish Stock Market (BME)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Milan Stock Market (MTA)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:25pm CET / 16:25 UTC

Euronext Amsterdam (AMS)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:40pm CET / 16:40 UTC

Helsinki Stock Market (OMX)*

Open: 10:00am EET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 18:30pm EET / 16:30 UTC

Stockholm Stock Market (OMX)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Oslo Stock Market (OSE)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Copenhagen Stock Exchange (CSE)*

Open: 9:00am CST / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CST / 16:00 UTC

Warsaw Stock Exchange (GPW)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE)

Open: 10:00am WAT / 09:00 UTC
Close: 4:00pm WAT / 15:00 UTC

London Stock Exchange (LSE)*

Open: 8:00am GMT / 08:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm GMT / 16:30 UTC

Irish Stock Exchange (ISE)*

Open: 8:00am GMT / 08:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm GMT / 16:30 UTC

Bolsa de Valores de Sao Paulo (Bovespa)

Open: 10:00am BRST / 13:00 UTC
Close: 17:00pm BRST / 20:00 UTC

*Daylight Savings Time is from March to October

Keep in mind that as you go west, the markets’ open hours start later. For example the London Stock Exchange begins to operate 6.5 hours earlier than NYSE. That sometimes impacts the European markets because of the time difference and the American markets during the calendar day.